REPORT OF THE GREENING NIAGARA COMMITTEE

Greening Niagara has now completed its 5th year and meets bi-monthly at the Cathedral.

The web site has had some updated material added this year to help parishes maintain environmental action at their churches. <u>http://www.niagara.anglican.ca/green</u>

Liaison occurs with other Diocesan ministries including Bishop's Advisory Committee on Church Buildings(BACCB), Solar Energy Task Force, and Prophetic Social Justice Making vision group.

Communication encouraged with other local and national Environmental groups such as KAIROS, 350.org, Greening Sacred Spaces, Faith and the Common Good and other Ontario Diocesan representatives.

Green Facilitators sent regular emails with suggestions on how to prepare for Earth Day, Earth Hour and St. Francis of Assisi Day.

Accreditation Program: 32 bronze, 10 silver and 2 gold awards have been presented. It is a pleasure to include the Cathedral among the newly accredited parishes this year.

Green Facilitators: 52 parishes have a Green Facilitator (GF) that can be contacted directly by mail or email. Involving the remaining 40 parishes still continues to be one of our goals. Visits to parishes are available to give advice or talk to parishioners: contact Sue Carson <u>d.carson@sympatico.ca</u>.

Sustainability Proposal made to Synod Council to support parishes completing Energy Audits and undertaking sustainable capital improvements to our buildings.

An Earth Day event, on Saturday afternoon April 26th 2014 is being planned - please advise your Green Facilitator to "save the date".

Thanks to Michael Skafel, as he steps down from the co-chair position, for the dedication he has brought to this role on the committee. We are grateful to him and our other supportive and enthusiastic committee members for another successful year.

Donald Brown	John Dennis	Michael Edwards	Russ Kelk (past co-chair)
The Rev. Bill Mous (ex-officio)		Nancy Pellerin	David Ricketts (BACCB)
The Rev. Max Woolaver		Michael Skafel (past co-chair)	
Respectfully submitted, Sue Carson and Susan Curran - co-chairs			